Skip to product information
1 of 1

Ashby, Dorothy - With Strings Attached (Boxed Set)

Ashby, Dorothy - With Strings Attached (Boxed Set)

Format: LP

UPC: 5051083176071

Release Date: 06/30/23

Condition: N

Regular price $279.98 USD
Regular price $279.98 USD Sale price $279.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock: 1 left

6-LP Box Set. All original studio albums from 1957 - 1965. Remastered directly and lacquers cut from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray. Manufactured at Pallas on180gm vinyl and housed in reverse-board deluxe sleeves. Extensive book with foreword from Brandee Younger, comprehensive liner notes by Shannon J. Effinger and previously unseen photographs and ephemera. Housed inside book-shelf style slipcase with silver-foil detail. Limited to 1,000 copies Worldwide. New Land are proud to present the first multi-disc box set from one of the most overlooked artists in Jazz history: Dorothy Ashby. The 6 LPs contained within this lavish box-set will give long overdue retrospection to her early works from 1957 to 1965, a period that found her represented by some of Jazz music's most important record labels; Regent, Prestige, Jazzland, Argo and Atlantic. The Jazz Harpist, Hip Harp w/ Frank Wess, In A Minor Groove w/ Frank Wess, Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp Of Dorothy Ashby, Dorothy Ashby and The Fantastic Harp Of Dorothy Ashby have been officially licensed with the full support of the Dorothy Ashby estate. All albums were remastered and lacquers cut by the exceptional Kevin Gray directly from the original analog tapes except The Jazz Harpist and Dorothy Ashby for which the original tapes have unfortunately been lost. Manufacturing has been handled by Pallas and all albums have been pressed on 180gm black vinyl and housed inside thick reverse-board sleeves. At the centre of this package is a 44-page book featuring a foreword from Grammy nominated harpist Brandee Younger. Impassioned and deeply researched liner notes by Shannon J. Effinger provide historical context to Dorothy's life, offering the most in-depth piece of writing ever committed to print on Dorothy as well as interviews with those that knew her best. The set is housed inside a deluxe book-shelf style box with stunning silver-foil detail. 

  • Tracks
  • 1 The Jazz Harpist: Thou Swell
  • 2 Stella By Starlight
  • 3 Dancing on the Ceiling Aeolian Groove
  • 4 Quietude
  • 5 Spicy
  • 6 Lamentation Hip Harp: Side A
  • 7 Pawky
  • 8 Moonlight in Vermont
  • 9 Back Talk
  • 10 Dancing in the Dark
  • 11 Charmaine
  • 12 Jollity
  • 13 There's a Small Hotel in a Minor Groove: Rascallity
  • 14 You'd Be So Nice to Come Home to
  • 15 It's a Minor Thing
  • 16 Yesterdays
  • 17 Bohemia After Dark
  • 18 Taboo
  • 19 Autumn in Rome
  • 20 Alone Together Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp of Dorothy Ashby: Soft Winds
  • 21 Wild As the Wind
  • 22 The Man I Love
  • 23 My Ship
  • 24 Love Is Here to Stay
  • 25 I've Never Been in Love Before
  • 26 With Strings Attached
  • 27 Laura
  • 28 The Guns of Navarone
  • 29 Misty
  • 30 The Gypsy in My Soul Dorothy Ashby: Lonely Melody
  • 31 Secret Love
  • 32 Gloomy Sunday
  • 33 Satin Doll
  • 34 John R
  • 35 Li'l Darlin'
  • 36 Booze
  • 37 Django
  • 38 You Stepped Out of a Dream
  • 39 Stranger in Paradise the Fantastic Harp of Dorothy Ashby: Flighty
  • 40 Essence of Sapphire
  • 41 Why Did You Leave Me
  • 42 I Will Follow You
  • 43 What Am I Here for
  • 44 House of the Rising Sun
  • 45 Invitation
  • 46 Nabu Corfa
  • 47 Feeling Good
  • 48 Dodi LI


FREE SHIPPING on purchases over $50
LOCAL PICKUP available at checkout
$5 MEDIA MAIL shipping in the USA
Items may be returned within 60 days of the delivery date.

If not defective, any product returned must be in the same condition in which customer received it and in the original retail packaging.
Yellow Racket will be responsible for cost of return on all damaged or defective items. Customer is responsible for cost of return if item is not damaged or defective. Photo/video evidence of damages/defects must be provided by customer within 14 days of the delivery date.
Customer assumes all responsibility for duties and taxes associated with international shipments.


Yellow Racket assigns condition based on the Goldmine Standard for grading records.
New (N) (Not typically included in the Goldmine Standard)
New records are purchased directly from the label, distributor, or registered wholesaler. Records are still sealed. Jackets may have slight shelf wear, but media has never been played.
Mint (M)
Still sealed. Never played. No observable flaws.  Items have been purchased secondhand.
Near Mint (NM)
A Near Mint (NM) record will play perfectly, with no imperfections during playback. The record should show no obvious signs of wear.
The cover (and any additional packaging) has no creases, folds, seam splits, cut-out holes, or other noticeable defects.
Very Good Plus (VG+)
A Very Good Plus (VG+) record will show some signs that it was played and otherwise handled by a previous owner who took good care of it.
Defects should be more of a cosmetic nature, not affecting the actual playback as a whole. Record surfaces may show some signs of wear and may have slight scuffs or very light scratches.
The disc and LP cover may have slight signs of wear, and may be gently marred by spindle marks, paper scuffs, wrinkled corners, etc.
Very Good (VG)
Many of the defects found in a VG+ record will be more pronounced in a VG disc. Surface noise will be evident, but will not overpower the music. Disc may have light scratches (deep enough to feel with a fingernail) that will affect the sound.
Labels, jackets, and inserts will have visible cosmetic flaws such as wrinkles, cut-outs, slight splitting, etc. However, it will usually have less than a dozen minor flaws.
Good (G)
A record in Good condition can be played through without skipping. But it will have significant surface noise, scratches, and visible groove wear. A cover or sleeve will have seam splits, especially at the bottom or on the spine. Tape, writing, ring wear, or other defects will be present.
While the record will be playable without skipping, noticeable surface noise and "ticks" will almost certainly accompany the playback. 
Poor (P), Fair (F)
The record may be cracked, badly warped, or won't play through without skipping or repeating. The picture sleeve may be water damaged, split, or heavily marred by wear and writing.
View full details